Moderators:
- Tim (Dotyisle)
- Chelsea (Kiwi)
- Megan (Megan)
- Wendy (WendyR)
- John (Cheerful)
- Chris (fyrfytr187)

QR Code
If you want to use this QR code (Quick Response code) just save the image and paste it where you want. You can even print it and use it that way. Coffee cups, T-Shirts etc would all be good for the QR code.
Topic Options
#510364 - 04/15/15 05:35 PM New & Diet
Stewart Offline
New_Member

Loc: UK
Hi, I am also a newbie to this site. I was diagnosed with AS when I was 30, I believe I have had it much longer. I am now 53. Having read a lot about AS when I was first diagnosed I just settled into the routine of good day, bad day, unbearable day and got by on my Anti inflammatory tablets (Indomisn). 20 Years in my condition has got worse and the current medication is being withdrawn 'too dangerous', which is fair enough. RT has given me Naproxen, which is useless, leaving me unable to walk. I have now ben offered TNF blocker 'Adalimumab' as a trial to see if this provides any benefits so that I can adjust to use the Naproxen. Ok, enough about my background the real question I have is on diet, having never modified mine I thought it worth a go. So I believe I have a low starch diet, however would like a second / third... opinion and some advice. I love bread, pasta, potatoes, cakes, etc.. I have just changed over to having a self made mix of Flaxseed, pumpkin seeds, Almond flakes, golden linseed and desicated coconut, with skimmed milk for breakfast + a few raisins, followed by an apple and a few grapes. For lunch it is plain salad, lettuce, carrots, sweet-corn, tomatoes and plain chicken or prawns, fresh orange juice and a pundit of grapes. For tea, scarmmbled eggs and ham. Some hard cheese and apple, later tyhe same as breakfast. In addition tea, coffee (no sugar) and diluted juice. I intend to swap the lunches between salmon, tuna, prawns and chicken. For evening meals I will include Steak, omlettes, lamb and chick with fresh vegtables. - Snacks