Moderators:
· Tim (Dotyisle)
· Chelsea (Kiwi)
· Megan (Megan)
· Wendy (WendyR)
· John (Cheerful)
· Chris (fyrfytr187)

QR Code
If you want to use this QR code (Quick Response code) just save the image and paste it where you want. You can even print it and use it that way. Coffee cups, T-Shirts etc would all be good for the QR code.

KickAS QR Code
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Kancie Offline OP
Third_Degree_AS_Kicker
OP Offline
Third_Degree_AS_Kicker
Hello all! I'm pretty new to KickAS, and NSD. Definitely new to learning to cook with no starch. I found a lot of great posts about coconut flour and almond flour as alternatives, so I ordered some coconut flour as it was cheaper. I'm learning to use it, with some success, and am off for cream of tartar today so I can attempt bread.

Got online to see if I could find any new interesting recipes for it, when I took a good look at the nutritional info on it. The saturated fat seemed high enough to me, to consider using the coconut flour sparingly, perhaps for dessert breads and cookies. I worry that on the NSD I should watch my intake of saturated fats, as I cannot have any of the grains that balance ones cholesterol level.

So, looking at the almond flour info, it seems to have much less of the saturated fat, as well as impressive levels of both vitamin E and magnesium. Both of which, I'm reading, are nutrients very important to those of us battling AS.

Am I on the right track with this observation? Because, while we have a tight budget, this would justify for me, spending a little more to choose almond over coconut.

As well,if you have experience using both flours, I would love to hear you weigh in on the pros and cons for each. Thanks!

Master_AS_Kicker
Master_AS_Kicker