Moderators:
· Tim (Dotyisle)
· Chelsea (Kiwi)
· Megan (Megan)
· Wendy (WendyR)
· John (Cheerful)
· Chris (fyrfytr187)

QR Code
If you want to use this QR code (Quick Response code) just save the image and paste it where you want. You can even print it and use it that way. Coffee cups, T-Shirts etc would all be good for the QR code.

KickAS QR Code
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
lar84 Offline OP
Third_Degree_AS_Kicker
OP Offline
Third_Degree_AS_Kicker
L
I just steamed some broccoli, and have been regularly eating broccoli while on this diet. Finally tonight I decided to test. Straight black. Do you think it could be a false positive??

I thought broccoli was nearly starchless, in all forms! Could this be why I feel 90% better and not 100% since going on the diet?

Thanks!

Lauren S.
M
New_Member
New_Member
M
I had the same issue with cauliflower. I guess the heat may convert the glucose to starch.

Now, I'm no scientist, but isn't it only the other way round? Starch to glucose? If I've got it right, it's the cell membranes in the vegetable, when subjected to heat, that are broken down. "Releasing" the starch. That's why cooked is more starchy than raw.

M
New_Member
New_Member
M
Could be you are right. What I am thinking, however, is that the heat of the cooking process polymerizes the glucose molecules. I forget what the name of the process is but doesn't something similar happen when sugar cooked?

Iron_AS_Kicker
Iron_AS_Kicker
Tailor, you have a good point.

Caramel candy is all about heat making sugar more complex. I think adding acid along with the heat favors the other direction of sugars breaking down into simpler ones, see "invert sugar syrup".

On the other hand, Millford's theory sounds like what I read in Carole Sinclair's book, and actually there's no reason they can't both be true...

Iron_AS_Kicker
Iron_AS_Kicker
Originally Posted By: lar84